Editing and Design F’08

December 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jgatdula @ 6:36 am

Stemming off of Professor Keith’s post about programs/skills that I wish I had a better grasp on, I think my current answer would be Adobe InCopy.

As a prospective magazine copy editor, it seems like knowing how to use this program before entering the industry would be invaluable. This is especially so since it is used in conjunction with Adobe InDesign, which is the Desktop Publishing program of choice for most major magazines.

InCopy description: http://www.adobe.com/products/incopy/

I think this is one program that emphasizes one of the biggest connections copy editors have between editing and design. I was not even made aware of such a program until my current internship, where I frequently receive InCopy printouts for me to fact-check before pages are sent to print.

What other programs, such as InCopy, should prospective copy editors have a relatively familiar grasp on before they enter this industry? And how are we expected to be familiar with such programs if they are not taught in the classroom?

Jessica Gatdula

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

