Editing and Design F’08

December 9, 2008

Breaking into a failing industry…

Filed under: Uncategorized — kmajew @ 4:31 am

 

I wanted to update this post with a list of popular magazines that folded, but as the list grows everyday it became a more intense project then I had planned. As the job market becomes more depressing it’s hard not wonder if those of us who always dreamt of working at a magazine will never have this goal realized. Just the other day at my internship my boss was discussing with some colleagues which magazines they will think fold next. Among these magazines was Nylon, a magazine everyone agreed “never made any money before, so why should they now?” Not even ten minutes later I got an email from my boss saying that Nylon had an entry-level position open that would be perfect for me. When I responded asking if it was smart to take a job at a magazine that seems doomed to be another victim of the present economy, she said, “Hunnie, you need to take anything you can get right now.” Awesome.

Some Optimism

The most influential website of my college career has been Ed2010.com. If you are not acquainted with this website and want to break into the magazine industry, you need to check it out immediately. From this website I found connections to help me get both of my internships and I have emailed them at least a dozen times for advice on everything from interviews to finding a job.

Recently, they posted this article that has given me hope in finding a job in this awful time.

 

http://www.ed2010.com/2008/12/eds-who-got-jobs-bad-economy-tell-all – check it out, I hope it gives you at least a faint glimmer of hope in this RecessMas season (get it? Recession? Christmas?). Also, check out Ed’s blog at

 

http://www.ed2010speaks.blogspot.com/. He (whoever he is… I think it‘s God), blogs about everything from his own personal experience to the job of a junior-editor. Both his blogs are an excellent place to get real word advice about the magazine industry or at the very least, a good laugh!

1 Comment »

  1. I’m in the exact same boat, while I am lucky enough to be interning at Cosmo, which everyone who works there insists will never lose money (and constantly emphasizes that its the “#1 selling woman’s magazine”, over the last three months I have seen multiple jobs cut, including low-paying assistant positions.
    I have this optimistic hope that magazines will never die, only because I rationalize that people use them as a form of escapism, reading them on planes, at the beach, and a few other random places where not every single person is constantly scrolling on their blackberry, but I think the reality is that everything in print is just moving more and more to internet.
    Call me old fashioned, but I still LOVE laying around flipping through magazines. But, I have to admit, there are certain magazines I used to buy religiously (mostly celebrity gossip, embarrassing but true) that I now rarely rarely purchase because I get the news a week before its published on websites like perezhilton.com, etc.

    Comment by laurward72 — December 9, 2008 @ 5:00 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

